I’m feeling some Moxie

All my life I have been looking at people trying to be perfect and more than the average person and I feel like all this perfection is getting to me. But, what I really care about is how people are just ruining their lives trying to be accurate and logical and since they are always trying to be that way, I start feeling the urge as well and then I start ruining my life. Yeah, you should be logical and should be good at everything, but your life only runs on common sense. Get over it.

I had this friend at school and she was all about perfection even though she didn’t admit it really. She was always trying to be better than anyone, the way I saw it, and she seemed to be a pretty positive person, but really wasn’t. I think her perfection didn’t get her attitude. So, I always saw her just trying to make her work and assignments, well, beautiful and correct. The definition of moxie is “force of character, determination, or nerve” (Google) and in my friend’s case, she definitely always had the force of nerve to be perfect. Maybe she had determination to be better or it was one of her characteristics. I really don’t know. Like I mentioned before, people are ruining their lives trying to be not themselves and as a friend, I think my friend was ruining her life, but was also ruining mine because I was starting to feel all her moxie and I think I had started to act like her, as well.

I need to admit that I have quite a lot of force of nerve of my own like how my beddings should not have a single wrinkle and how all the stuff in my closet should be in its own place and if anyone moves anything, well then, my urge acts up. But, I completely hate it when I get the overpowering feeling of that urge of accomplishing excellence. This is because I want to enjoy my life. If you spend your entire time just letting yourself feel the urge to be perfect, well then, you really are done in life. You can’t achieve anything then and you realize that the idea of being perfect doesn’t even exist.

My family and I sometimes are like, “Oh. We should be more perfect.” I would like to say we can never be perfect. We can’t even reach someone’s house less than an hour late and 90% of our plans fail or end up getting cancelled. You can say we have bad luck or no time punctuality, but really, it’s us enjoying our lives and definitely not trying to achieve anything.

There are many people in my life who had or have the problem of moxie and there were also people I thought who were perfect, but were just better than me at things. I do feel sorry for all of those people in the world who have moxie and also that friend of mine. Really all they are doing is ruining their lives and not realizing the most basic truth of all times. That no one is perfect or can be perfect which means that what they are trying to achieve is entirely impossible. Life runs on common sense, not on the accomplishment of excellence or perfection. If I could say, I would tell all those people who are trying to achieve perfection, “Stop being so bias. Think from the other side. Maybe you need to be imperfect so that you can be happy and be good at things in life. Having that much favoritism will get you nowhere.”

The point of all of this is that save yourself. Or the moxie feeling will get to you. I’m warning you because I have felt some moxie. And it almost got to me. If you feel like you aren’t able to be perfect, it doesn’t mean that you have horribly bad luck. You’re just enjoying your life.

via Daily Prompt: Moxie Moxie

7 comments

  1. Yeah I also agree with you Palak that trying to be perfect all the time keeps you in a stress and miles away from happiness. So it’s our choice what we choose happiness or our idea of perfection.

    Like

  2. I can’t agree more Palak. This problem is also known as OCD, people suffering from this not only keep themself in stress but also give hard time to near and dear ones. One should be easy peezy lemon squeazy but yet organized…..lol. Gr8 article….. Keep it up…

    Like

  3. Everyone should strive for progress not perfection.
    Proud of you, you realized at such a young age. As always, nicely written on a very complex issue.

    Like


Leave a Reply

