Miss Peregrine’s Peculiar Children

The three books of this series are filled with unusually interesting magic and a story that was never really told or was even imagined. In this series, Ransom Riggs, the author, introduces the readers to a world of peculiarity where children of all ages can do a variety of extraordinary things and where time doesn’t pass.

The story starts in the book, Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children, when Jacob Portman first discovers his peculiar ability and the other peculiar children on a remote island called Cairnholm, in Wales where he goes after his grandfather’s death, who is also peculiar, and after discovering that his grandfather had wanted him to go there. He enters a time loop, where a certain date is set to be repeated by the ymbryne (also known as the headmistress or the protector of a group of peculiar children), and meets new friends and their ymbryne, Miss Peregrine at the children’s home where they live. Miss Peregrine is captured by the enemies of the peculiars, later on in the book, and the children have to learn how to protect themselves. Jacob helps the children escape their attacking enemies and, therefore,leaves the island with them. The story continues as the children continues to face their enemies, the wights and the hollows, without their ymbryne, throughout the first book and the second book, Hollow City. Wights are humans with complete white eyes who eat on peculiars’ eyes to stay immortal. Hollows are tall monsters with a bunch of tongues and are former humans. They are invisible and only can be seen by people who have special peculiar abilities like Jacob. Jacob also gets better at his peculiar ability as he faces new threats and discovers more of the peculiar world. Secrets unfold about Jacob’s grandfather, who was also peculiar and was killed by the wights, and about himself and due to this, Jacob changes rapidly throughout the series. In the end, the children are able to get Miss Peregrine back, only to find out that she was stuck in her bird form.

In Hollow City, the children travel to another time loop that runs on another date and discover more peculiars, except in the forms of unusually different animals. They discover that their ymbryne is also missing and so, leave the loop with a few of their new friends to London, the capital city of Peculiardom, where they think their ymbrynes are held. They are soon captured by wights who are pretending to be soldiers, but escape them. In the end, the children discover that the bird they had thought the entire time was Miss Peregrine, was actually her evil brother, Caul, who wanted the ymbrynes’ powers to himself. The children are captured and taken away except for Jacob, a girl named Emma who can summon fire, and a talking dog named Addison, who the children had meet earlier in the book. This is the end of the second book.

Jacob’s journey ends in the final book, Library of Souls, where Jacob, Emma, and Addison travel to the head fortress of the enemies and meet new allies. They work with the others to figure out a plan to get into the fortress to rescue their friends and their ymbryne. During an attempt at getting into the fortress, Addison manages to get in, but is captured right away. Jacob and Emma come up with a plan to get into the wight’s fortress. As the book goes on, Jacob and Emma discover that Caul wants to collect the souls of the peculiars to gain power and to become the king of Peculiardom. In the end, Jacob and Emma get into the fortress and manage to follow a plan to rescue their friends. Of course, I’m not going to tell you what happened in the end. I don’t want to ruin it.

Ransom Riggs uses interesting and creepy photographs throughout the three books to show what his happening or to show certain things. Each photograph is real and is a vintage.

Now, why do I recommend this series? This book is for teens and it is totally different from the other sci-fi books such as The Maze Runner Series, Percy Jackson and the Olympians series, and many other books. There are many twists and turns in this book that can make you get completely lost in each page. I think I did get a little bored in the second book, but the ending was definitely worth reading. For those, who like pretty much of every genre: romantic, action, suspense, and many other genres, this is the series for them.

Overall, out of 10, I would give Miss Peregrine’s Peculiar Children a seven and a half. Thank you.


One thought on “Miss Peregrine’s Peculiar Children

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s